I try to always make each post informative, useful, fun and relevant but today I wanted to share a glimpse into my life.  Because, even though this is a business blog, it is written by…you guessed it…ME!  So I want you to know me, who I am, what I like and when I have a free moment, what I like to do.  Our home is a wonderful place; mountains, redwoods, meadows, rivers and the ocean are all right here for us to enjoy.

Spring is gorgeous in Northern California (and elsewhere too I’m sure) but I must insist our Spring is spectacular, and my FAVORITE season.  So whenever I have time I like to get outside in the sunshine.  This last Sunday I called my best friend, M (she was still in bed at 10:30am the lazy bum!) and told her to get her *** in gear and go to the beach with me.  I hadn’t been since I moved back home, so in over two years (I can hardly believe it) and it was a beautiful day.  Being her only day off, and still half asleep, she wasn’t sure if she wanted to get out of bed.  But I told her she hadn’t seen me in a week and therefore it was mandatory she get up, get dressed, grab the dogs and meet me in town in an hour.  And she did.  And we had a WONDERFUL day!

We grabbed some grub at Sentry and headed out to Shelter Cove on the Lost Coast.  They recently put up 25 new 25mph signs all along the 20 or so mile drive. It would be Nice if people drove slowly along the windy, curvy, every other corner is a blind corner road but it’s not going to happen, and the signs were a waste of money (but nice try anyway).  After going on about how fast people drive, we actually took our time.  It was 80, all the windows were down, the music was up, and low tide wasn’t for another two hours so we had plenty of time.

As we came over the last range, and the feel of the air changed in a way only the ocean can cause, and I caught glimpses of the water through the trees, I took a deep relaxing breath.  The ocean has always been something I’ve loved.  As a child, when my parents took us camping at the beach, I always stuck my head out the window and breathed in the air.  The smell is so distinct and calming.  It’s always lush and alive, especially during the Spring.  We took the round about way through the town of Shelter Cove, doing a little sightseeing of the houses (so many beautiful homes) and headed to Shelter Cove beach.

Shelter Cove beach @ low tide
Shelter Cove beach @ low tide

How I love four wheel drive!  We went down the boat dock drive, put it in low and headed out the beach.  Past the other brave trucks, through the maze of toys left strewn by a large group of boys (birthday party? cause if those were all one family…gulp!) and on down to  where the creek cuts off any further access.

M’s dogs Bubba and Bell were SO excited.  Bubba is a three year old male bull mastiff.  Bell is a 9 week old female bull mastiff.  (M is planning on breeding once Bell gets older.)  And this was Bells’ first trip to the beach!  And she did just great.  Neither of them wanted to get in the water, cause it was freakin’ COLD!  But once we started running and playing in the surf they didn’t mind so much (although when we were leaving we saw a group of dogs running full speed straight out into the waves, so Bell and Bubba are officially weenies.)

Bubba & Bell @ the Beach.
Bubba & Bell @ the Beach.

We spent about two hours playing in the sand, running around with the dogs and sitting in the sun drinking a few beers before it got too hot.  So what did we do??  We went up to Seal Rock and sat in the grass, played with the dogs and read in the sun.

M got burned.  I have learned from a lifetime of being pale to apply sunscreen BEFORE I leave the house.  M still insists she doesn’t burn, she Tans.  mmmHmmm.

Lupin flowers in full bloom
Lupin flowers in full bloom

Taking the other back way along the Lost Coast cliffs we headed home.  We took a detour out old Briceland road and tried to pet a cow before we realized she had a little calf near by which was why she was running away.  A long section of that old road has nothing.  No houses, no fences, nothing.  It’s one of the most beautiful places this time of year.  The vast meadows are a sweet green, the Oregon White Oaks are covered in bright young leaves, and the light is some how different.  Softer.

Although living in the country, practically in the middle of no where, certainly has its disadvantages, this past Sunday was enough to make it all worth it.  Monday and today are equally as outstanding.  Spring is in full swing (weatherman says it’s gonna get colder again tomorrow) but I know Summer is right on her heels and it’ll be so hot we’ll be praying for Winter to come back.  But for now….*sigh*

Looking South down the Lost Coast
Looking South down the Lost Coast

~Stephanie

