For the past 30 odd years, our community has held the Summer Arts & Music Festival.

I’ve been so many years I can’t even count.  Unfortunately I haven’t been able to go for the last few years (I was in Portland) but this year I got to go.

I went both Saturday and Sunday.   On Saturday I was there with my friend M for a whole 12 hours.  It was great.  Beer, wine, music, TONS of people.  Everyone comes out for the festival.  You’ll run into people you haven’t seen for years.  I saw at least a dozen people I went to high school with and haven’t seen in a good 10 years.

This year was bigger then ever.  Lots of good food; Indian, Thai, BBQ, NY Pizza, Ice Cream, and the world famous KMUD Iced Coffee (KMUD is our local radio station.  My dad has a radio talk-show every third Wednesday of the month.  The Computer Guys).

All kinds of beautiful hand crafted art.  Paintings, clothes, fairie wings, hair ornaments, umbrellas, aprons, cloaks, wooden spoons, jewelry, the list goes on.  I got a few pretty things, here’s what I got.

The earrings are made by my friend J, the perfume is delicious, and I got tons of compliments on the blue flower hair piece.
The earrings are made by my friend J, the perfume is delicious, and I got tons of compliments on the blue feather hair piece.

I had my little Canon PowerShot with me and took a few videos of the Feet First dancers performance.  I’m working on getting those videos up on our website, but we’ve never done that before so it’s taking some time.  I’ll let you know when they are available because they are definitely worth a quick look.  Our community may be small, but we manage to create a boatload of talented young people.

They performed a few excerpts from their recent ballet recital.  And of course they had to have the little ‘uns dance for us.  They were so cute.

The lilac fairie from Sleeping Beauty.
The lilac fairie from Sleeping Beauty.
Little Red Ridinghood and the Wolf
Little Red Ridinghood and the Wolf
Angel ballerinas.
Angel ballerinas.
And finally, the little 'uns doing hip hop!
And finally, the little 'uns doing hip hop!
