I wanted to eat some cherry tomatoes, so I grabbed my camera, called the dog, and hopped into the Rhino for the short drive up the way to the orchard and greenhouse.  I made a quick detour to see my parents new house.  The kitchen cabinets are being installed and the bedroom has been painted, but more on that later.  For now we’re talking FOOD!!

Oh glorious food.  There is nothing like picking a tomato fresh from the vine, warm from the sun, popping it in your mouth, the burst of juice and flavor.   yum yum yum!

And this was just the ones I had time to find...dozens more I'm sure.
And this was just the ones I had time to find...dozens more I'm sure.

The smell of basil and tomato plant fills the air.  It is heaven to bury your face in a forest of tomato plant and hunt for those little red treasures of tasty delight.

And our peppers this year.  Oh My Word.  Do we have more peppers then we know what to do with.  Peppers for me, for you, for them, for ALL!  Peppers peppers peppers.

Purple bellpeppers, red pepperoncinis.
Purple bellpeppers, red pepperoncinis.
A forest of peppers.
A forest of peppers.

IMG_1903-web

And basil!  There is a large folding table in the barn right now, completely covered in basil, and when I was in the greenhouse, I couldn’t even tell where it was harvested from.

My favorite basil to look at, but not necessarily eat (the scent is to live for)
My favorite basil to look at, but not necessarily eat (the scent is to live for)
Basil making a break for it.
Basil making a break for it.
Heirloom tomatoes.
Heirloom tomatoes.

We were unsure about these tomatoes at first.  They split easily, and really aren’t much to look at, but slice one up for a sandwich and you’ll never regret them.  So sweet.

Tomato flower
Tomato flower

Although the eggplant isn’t ready to harvest yet, it’s almost there.  And the flowers are some of my favorites.

IMG_1901-web

IMG_1900-web

We have more.  So much more.  But for now I think this is enough to appease even the most avid gardener.  I have two bowls full of veggies to take home tonight, and guess what?  We still have a while bowl full left from the last harvest.  Whatever will we do with it all…

