Although I was a picky eater as a child (thankfully I’ve mostly grown out of that) I’ve always loved food.  But until recently I never considered myself a cook. And then I started cooking and guess what??  I LOVE IT!  I used to think cooking was an exact science, and sometimes (like baking cookies) it is, but most of the time a little variation can only make it better.

I had this realization when I made my first soup.  I was always scared to stray from the recipe but soup is very forgiving.  So if you are a new cook, making a few soups is a safe way to experiment (in my opinion).  And after I had success with soups, I turned to stir-fry and casseroles.  Also very forgiving choices for new cooks.  And since I am all about people improving their skills, here is a recipe for a quick, easy and Delicious tomato soup.

Basil-Coconut Tomato Soup
serves 4

INGREDIENTS:
1 onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
2 tbls. butter
32 oz. can fire roasted crushed tomatoes
2 tbls. tomato paste
1 can coconut milk
3 cups chicken or vegetable broth
bunch of fresh basil, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

In a large soup pot, add the butter, onions and garlic.  Saute until the onions have softened and turned translucent (about 5 minutes).  Add the crushed tomatoes, tomato paste and vegetable broth.  Bring to a boil.   Blend.  Add the coconut milk and basil.  Salt and pepper to taste.

Your done.  Really, that’s it.  Easy.

Enjoy.

Don’t forget you can double or triple this recipe for more people.  You can take out the coconut milk and replace it with heavy whipping cream.  Or remove the cream entirely and just use more broth.  Experiment, be inventive and always enjoy your time in the kitchen.

