It’s cold & raining this morning on the ranch, but that doesn’t mean the work stops! Today’s post is simple, I’m sharing the beauty of mother nature here at MileWide ranch from our beautiful trees and flowers, to our herbs and all our little critters running around.

Living on the ranch has been an experience especially coming from the city.  During my time in Southern California I was quickly feeling like I was suffocating.  Everywhere I turned there were thousands of people, at any given moment you can hear sirens from fire trucks or ambulances, the sound of cars and trucks speeding by honking, the noise was every where, it was all noise.

My first time to Humboldt was a religious experience. Driving through The Avenue of the Giants brought tears to my eyes, I had to pull over and stop at the visitor center.  I couldn’t help but look in amazement while staring up at these huge giants, the stories these trees could tell!  After spending time and actually hugging trees, I made my way to my camp site at Big Lagoon.  How could it be that I pitched a tent amongst the Redwoods, yet 100 feet to my right was the ocean? Incredible!

There is something very therapeutic about being out in Mother Nature, I quickly forgot about the city and threw myself into the Humboldt Lifestyle and for the time I was here, I was happy.  For the first time in many years I felt a sense of peace and calmness in my life and all I had to do was sit back and take it all in.  The trees, the flowers, the tall wild grass, the animals and critters signing amongst the woods.  Truly is heaven.

I share with you my brief story in hopes that whomever is reading this, if you too are feeling anxious, or overwhelmed by city and/or country life, take a moment out of your day and look around you, look at all the beauty that is surrounding us.  Take a walk in the park or in the woods, have a picnic by yourself and take it all in!TreeHuggingTreeofLifeDSC01134

